My Arwan Garmentry Adventure Part Two: The Voile

The Friday before last I went back to the awesome adventure store that is Arwen Garmentry to have my fitting done for my custom made corset. Ooooooh la la, it was cool. I am cringing at showing the picture that shows my “before” belly but I feel I need to show it in order for you to get the real picture of what a custom made corset can do for you or at least what it has done for me.

Image courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

Image courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

 

A “mockup” or  “voile” was made for me from the measurements taken at my first visit and Arwen put the corset on for me. Keep in mind that the corset is over my outfit when it is actually intended to be an undergarment in my case. It is possible to have corsets made that are meant to be worn alone but in my case I am looking for an undergarment that will help smooth my waist line, correct my posture and tuck and lift me in all the right places to give me a better silhouette.

Image Courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

Image Courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

 

The corset was surprisingly very comfortable and the support from top to bottom was incredible. I can see why it is recommended to do exercise when wearing a corset as an everyday garment. The corset almost forces your body into the correct position and because this is usually not a habit, your core muscles will be impacted when wearing a corset. All the more reason to return to Body Divine Pilates sessions.

Image courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

Image courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

 

I got to do my “Titanic” pose while Arwen did the last measurements to make sure I could still sit while wearing the corset and Elegant Appeal measured me for my ballet dress as the corset slightly changes your measurements. In this case, my waist was a whole inch smaller just by wearing the corset over a dress. I am over the moon with the results and can’t wait to show you the finished results that I wore for my evening at the ballet with my Elegant Appeal creation.

Image courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

Image courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

And the almost finished product…………

Image Courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

Image Courtesy of Benjamin Skinner

Till Next Time

Lace up

xoxo

Leave a Reply

