Scrumptious Fresh Green Bean and Bacon Salad

Image

@Fresh_Living challenged me to make this amazingly scrumptious Green Bean and Bacon Salad for my husband yesterday via twitter. I was delighted to come across a salad recipe that my husband could get on board with. Just another reason why I love the twitter-verse, it has opened up my world in so many ways.

If you are anything like me, with a full time job and a home to run, looking for ingredients that are not readily available puts me off a recipe so I was delighted to see that I had the majority of the ingredients already. I asked the hubby to pick up some Halloumi on the way home and accepted the challenge gladly.

One of my 2014 goals that I have set is to spend more time with family and I have challenged myself to try and have at least one family meal a week, alternating between my husbands side of the family and my side of the family. The idea is to have them over for a quick, 1.5 hour meal that’s simple to make and easy to clean up. This was the perfect kind of recipe for just the occasion.

How did it go?

I was very impressed at how easily I was able to print the recipe and took out the bacon to defrost. It gave me the perfect excuse to use our new microwave and to christen our new orchid colour frying pan. Admittedly I had to look up what “blanch” meant to make sure I did it correctly and threw the green beans into a pot of water while I made the delicious simple to make home made sald dressing. I don’t enjoy Capers so I substituted the capers for soya sauce which was super yummy.

Image

Image

I have never cooked Halloumi cheese before but it is surprisely simple, I just had to slice a few thick pieces, sprinkle with flour and fry in the bacon fat. OMG! So delicious that I was given strict instructions to make a double batch of Halloumi next time.

Image

I decided to add some mixed salad leaves to give the meal a more summer fresh look with some lightly dry fried red, green and yellow peppers. I like a recipe that I can add a little bit of my own flare to.

My husband and I are huge fans of the new Jamie Oliver 15 minute meals and the style in which he serves meals on large boards so out came the large serving board and the meal was ready. I did add jacket potatoes to the menu to add some sustenance.

Image

The family really enjoyed the meal, including my 12 year old sister who was begging for more halloumi. This will now be filed into my recipe book online as well as in the family favourites file. Very simple to make, quick to clean up and 9/10 for deliciousness. Thanks to @fresh_living for the challenge. Tonight I will be attempting the spicy chicken wrap. Next time you are not sure what to make for the family, pop over to the Pick N Pay site online and you will find some awesome simple recipes to inspire you, you can even look for recipes via ingredients. Happy cooking.

Leave a Reply

